is Hershey’s Syrup Vegan

What’s the first brand you think of when we say ‘Chocolate’? Hershey’s, right? Hershey’s is loved by many and they happen to have a few syrups that are suitable for vegans – with their classic chocolate syrup being one of them. 

Is it Vegan?

The answer is yes, but it depends on the flavor. The chocolate and strawberry flavors are vegan, however, the caramel contains milk. Read on to find out exactly which syrups are vegan! 

About Hershey’s

Hershey’s is the largest chocolate manufacturer in the world. In 1892, Milton S. Hershey revolutionized the candy industry by creating the iconic Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar. Since then, Hershey’s has become one of the most recognized brands in the world with thousands of products to choose from! Hershey’s has something for everyone – even dessert lovers! 

Hershey’s Vegan Syrup Range

Hershey’s Syrup is a delicious addition to your favorite sweet treats or beverages. You can add it to pancakes, ice cream, waffles, or even milkshakes! There are many different syrups out there but not all of them are vegan. Here is a quick list of the syrups that are dairy free and suitable for vegans!

  • Sundae Dream Double Chocolate Syrup 
  • Sugar-Free Chocolate Flavored Syrup 
  • Simply 5 Ingredient Chocolate Syrup 
  • Chocolate Lite Calorie/Sugar Syrup 
  • Strawberry Flavored Syrup 
  • Special Dark Chocolate Syrup
  • Classic Chocolate Syrup 

Ingredient breakdown 

If you want to know exactly what’s in the Hershey’s syrup ranges, we’ve broken down the ingredients for a better understanding. 

Chocolate Hershey’s Syrup (VEGAN)

This is the classic syrup everyone knows and loves. It’s versatile, making it essential in most households. You can add it to ice cream, milkshakes, or flavored milk. 

Ingredients: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Water, Cocoa, Sugar, Potassium Sorbate, Salt, Mono- and Diglycerides, Xanthan Gum, Polysorbate 60; Vanillin, Artificial Flavor.

Strawberry Hershey’s Syrup (VEGAN)

The strawberry syrup is yummy on ice cream, pie, cake, or anything sweet. The possibilities are endless!

Ingredients: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Water, Corn Syrup, Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Xanthan Gum, Red 40.

Hershey’s Sundae Dream Double Chocolate Syrup (VEGAN)

If you prefer a thicker syrup for your desserts, this is also vegan!

Ingredients: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, Water, Corn Syrup, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Cocoa, contains 2% or less of Modified Cornstarch, Potassium Sorbate (To maintain freshness), Salt, Mono and Diglycerides, Polysorbate 60, Xanthan Gum, Vanillin, Artificial Flavor.

Hershey’s Sugar-Free Chocolate Flavored Syrup (VEGAN)

Calorie counting or diabetic? No worries, you can still enjoy chocolate syrup! 

Ingredients: Water, Cocoa Processed with Alkali (Adds a Negligible Amount of Fat), Glycerin, Erythritol, Contains 2% or Less of: Sodium Acid Sulfate, Natural & Artificial Flavor, Xanthan Gum, Salt, Potassium Sorbate (to Maintain Freshness), Sodium Benzoate (to Maintain Freshness), Acesulfame Potassium, Sucralose, Zinc Sulfate, Vitamin E Acetate, Niacinamide, Biotin.

Hershey’s Simply 5 Ingredient Chocolate Syrup (VEGAN)

Prefer something with simple ingredients? This syrup contains only 5 ingredients and is suitable for vegans! 

Ingredients: Sugar; Organic Invert Syrup; Water; Cocoa; Natural Vanilla Flavor.

Hershey’s Chocolate Lite Calorie/Sugar Syrup (VEGAN)

Another one for the calorie counters – and it’s vegan! 

Ingredients: Water, Sugar, Fructose, Cocoa*, Contains 2% or Less of: Caramel Color; Xanthan Gum; Sodium Acid Sulfate; Salt; Potassium Sorbate, To Maintain Freshness; Vanillin, Artificial Flavor; Sodium Benzoate, Maintain Freshness; Acesulfame Potassium; Artificial Color [Red 40]; Sulfur Dioxide, To Maintain Freshness.*Add A Negligible Amount of Fat.

Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Syrup (VEGAN) 

This dark chocolate syrup is perfect for ice cream, beverages, and pies!

Ingredients: High Fructose Corn Syrup; Corn Syrup; Water; Cocoa Processed With Alkali*; Sugar; Contains 2% Or Less Of: Salt; Mono- And Diglycerides*; Xanthan Gum; Polysorbate 60; Vanillin, Artificial Flavor

Non-Vegan Syrups and Toppings by Hershey’s

  • Caramel Sundae Dream Syrup
  • Classic Caramel Syrup
  • Milk Chocolate Shell Topping
  • Hershey’s Hot Fudge Topping
  • Special Dark Topping
  • Caramel Topping

Ways to enjoy Hershey’s Syrup

  • Add to chocolate milk – Fed up with drinking plain milk? Just add a couple of squeezes of Hershey’s syrup to turn it into a milkshake.
  • Drizzled on fruit – If you find it hard to get your fruit in, try adding Hershey’s syrup to it to spice it up!
  • Add it to breakfast foods or desserts – Pancakes, waffles – you name it! Add it onto your sweet treats.
  • Drizzle on milkshakes – Make your milkshakes look restaurant-made by adding Hershey’s Syrup onto them! 
  • Directly into your mouth – We’re kidding (kinda)! But seriously, it’s good enough to do that. 

Other Vegan Alternatives

Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup holds a special place in our hearts but you might be wondering if there are any alternatives out there. 

RxSugar Organic Chocolate Syrup

RxSugar’s chocolate syrup is made without any added sugars or artificial flavors, making it perfect for those who are trying to be health conscious. It tastes just as great as regular chocolate syrup and is completely natural! 

Ingredients: Organic Allulose, Organic Cocoa Powder

Walden Farms Chocolate Syrup with Near Zero Calories & Fats

Add to pancakes, shakes, fruit, or just about anything. It’s low in calories, and fats, and is also dairy-free and vegan. What more could you want?

Ingredients: Triple Filtered Purified Water, Defatted Cocoa Powder, Vegetable Fibre, Caramel Color, Cellulose Gel, Chocolate Flavor, Salt, Sodium Acid Sulphate, Xanthan Gum, Natural Flavors, Coffee Flavour, Sucralose, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate.

Now that we’ve gone through each Hershey’s syrup on the market, hopefully, you can be sure of which ones are suitable for vegans and which ones aren’t. Whether you fancy strawberry syrup, chocolate syrup, or even a calorie-free option, Hershey’s has got it! 

Is Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup Dairy-Free?

Yes, as it’s vegan, it is dairy-free. Although you might think it contains dairy due to it being a milk chocolate flavor, it does not contain milk.

Is Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup Gluten-Free?

It does not contain any gluten ingredients, making it gluten-free. 

Is Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup Halal? 

Yes, it is halal. The syrup does not contain gelatin, alcohol, or any other ingredient forbidden by the Islamic religion. However, it is not halal-certified so it’s important to check first. 

Similar Posts