marshmallow

Is Fluff Vegan?

Marshmallow fluff has been a favourite spread for many people over the past century.  Created in 1917 by Archibald Query, fluff is made from corn syrup, vanilla, egg whites and sugar. Ingredients that haven’t changed for the past 100 years. But because of the eggs, Marshmallow fluff is non-vegan.  Yet, as with most things in…

Are Egg Whites Vegan

Are Egg Whites Vegan

Egg whites are used in a variety of cooking. From salad dressings to baking, this part of the egg seems to become a substantial component in the recipes. Egg whites add silkiness to mayonnaises and lightness to your cakes and baking. Yet, when it comes to living the vegan life, eggs and egg whites are off…

Discovering Vegan Cream

Discovering Vegan Cream

In a world that grows increasingly conscious of the impacts of our dietary choices, both on our health and the environment, the trend of veganism has taken the American culinary scene by storm. One of the most enticing aspects of this dietary lifestyle is the innovative use of plant-based ingredients to recreate familiar textures and…