Is Fluff Vegan?

Marshmallow fluff has been a favourite spread for many people over the past century. 

Created in 1917 by Archibald Query, fluff is made from corn syrup, vanilla, egg whites and sugar. Ingredients that haven’t changed for the past 100 years.

But because of the eggs, Marshmallow fluff is non-vegan. 

Yet, as with most things in life, there are work-arounds so that you can make vegan fluff. Here we will run you through how to do so, show you  vegan Marshmallow brands so you can make your own marshmallow creme, and provide you with some recipes to try out.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. The links below may be affiliate links. Please read my disclosure policy for more information. 

Marshmallow fluff that is truly vegan

Just because you have decided on a vegan lifestyle doesn’t mean you have to miss out in the finer things in life, like marshmallow fluff. It’s pretty simple to make your own fluff by substituting the animal based ingredients with vegan-approved alternatives. 

To make vegan fluff you need: 

  • Aquafaba
  • Sugar (powdered and vegan cane)
  • Vanilla
  • Cream of tartar

Aquafaba can be considered the vegan alternative to egg whites. It is made from beans and legumes, typically chickpeas.

You can make aquafaba yourself by draining the liquid from your chickpea can. Another way of obtaining aquafaba is by boiling, steaming or pressure cooking your legumes. 

Aquafaba acts as a foaming agent so that you get that fluffy texture you remember from marshmallow creme.

How do you know how much aquafaba to use?

marshmellow in a bucket

The rule of thumb is that 30 milliliters of aquafaba is similar to a medium sized egg white. 45 milliliters is equivalent to a whole egg (that is the yolk and the white).

Powdered sugar is made by adding cornstarch to sugar. However, not all powdered sugar can be considered vegan (even though sugar originates from sugar cane).

The processing if the sugar is what determines if it’s okay for vegans or not. Check to see how the sugar was made (where there any animal based products used?). 

Vanilla is completely vegan.

During the process of winemaking, cream if tartar is created as it naturally occurs in grapes. That means it is completely plant-based as well as being gluten-free.

It helps to stabilize the air bubbles in your foam. That means your fluff is nice and fluffy.

Mix the aquafaba, vanilla, and cream of tartar until you get nice peaks in the mix. Next add in your powdered and cane sugar.

Mix everything until the sugar has melted into the rest of the ingredients. 

You have just made your own marshmallow fluff! 

Can I use marshmallows instead?

If the above recipe seems a little overwhelming to you, you may be wondering if you can use marshmallows instead to make fluff. Typically marshmallows contain gelatin which acts as a binding agent to keep the sugar and taste together.

Gelatin also is what gives marshmallows that squishy, stretchy texture. 

Because gelatin is made by boiling together a bunch of animal parts (skin, ligaments an bones) it is non-vegan.

However, you will be glad to know that there are some marshmallow brands that cater for the vegan market. 

Dandies Marshmallows are completely vegan and contain Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor. However, the soy protein means that there marshmallows are to be avoided if you have a soy allergy.

Ananda Foods is a small family based business in Derbyshire, UK. They offer a variety of vegan confectionery including a range of vegan marshmallows (which are completely plant-based).

You can grab yourself some directly from Anada’s online store.

Freedom Confectionery provide vegans with awesome marshmallows. Based in the UK, Freedom Confectionery was started by a food scientist who was seeking to provide a range if “free-from” food.

Check out what the marshmallows are made of: Glucose-fructose syrup, sugar, water, dextrose, Gelling agents: Carrageenan, cornstarch, Hydrolyzed protein, Stabilizer: Polyphosphate, natural vanilla, natural Flavours, dye: titanium dioxide, coloring foodstuffs: beetroot.

Pick yourself up a packet or two on through Amazon.

Now you have your vegan marshmallows, you are set to make your own fluff. It’s so simple.

Grab your double boiler (which is simply a large pot filled with water that allows the steam to enter into smaller pot immersed inside) and let your marshmallows melt inside the boiler (16 large marshmallows should make one cup of fluff).

That was quick and easy! But what can you use your fluff for?

Recipe ideas for fluff

Traditionally, fluff has been used as a spread. Many have find memories of adding fluff to their peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

But there is so much more you can use fluff for. 

  • Grab a couple of cookies and sandwich them together with your fluff. 
  • Use fluff as a topping for cupcakes or as a frosting on cakes. 
  • Enhance your pancakes or pikelets with a few dollops of fluff. 
  • Add fluff to the top of your coffee or your hot chocolate.
  • Instead of having cream in the centre of your scone, try fluff and jam.
  • Create some excitement at breakfast time by putting fluff on the top of your cereal.
  • Just eat it straight!

Enjoy your fluff

pink and white marshmallow

As a vegan, you don’t need to miss out on marshmallow fluff. Though the original product may be off the list for you (due to the eggs used in the recipe), there are ways that you can make your own plant-based marshmallow creme.

Aquafaba has become an increasingly popular alternative to eggs and is a great option for making your own vegan fluff. Also, melting vegan marshmallows is a simple way to create fluff.

When it comes to buying vegan marshmallows, check the ingredients as some contain soy protein.

When it comes to uses for fluff, the options are only limited by your imagination. There are plenty of great ideas online, too.

So, put the jug on, make yourself a drink and a sandwich and don’t forget to add your fluff! 

Similar Posts