All you need to know about Dominos Plant-Based Pizza and Snacks!

Pizza is top of the list for many people when it comes to ordering a takeout or visiting a fast-food chain. If you are vegan you will know that it is now common for pizza chains to serve vegan pizza which is a big change from a few years ago when began pizza was more difficult to come by.

Domino’s is one pizza brand that has improved its offerings to customers with particular dietary requirements, including the need for plant-based food. At Domino’s, you are able to select from a dedicated vegan pizza menu or you can build your own pizza with your favorite ingredients.

Aside from pizza, you can order sandwiches and pasta dishes that are vegan-friendly

We take an in-depth look at the vegan options at Domino’s for you, taking you through the most common choices on offer. 

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. The links below may be affiliate links. Please read my disclosure policy for more information. 

Thin Crust

thin crust pizza with pizza cutter

The thin crust pizza base at Domino’s is vegan and you can choose from an array of cheese-free ingredients to place on top. We think that it is always good practice to mention to your server that you are vegan just so that they are 100% sure not to add any animal products or animal by-products. 

Many of Domino’s pizza bases have milk listed in the ingredients as it is used in the thick crust and stuffed crust dough. This is the main reason why there are limited options for vegans at this famous pizza chain.

This is sadly the same when it comes to sides, slices of bread, and desserts, as we will talk about shortly. If you are ever in doubt then you should speak to the server when you cake to order your pizza or when you go into the restaurant if you are ordering face to face. 

Pizza Sauces

The pizza sauce at Domino’s is vegan-friendly, whether you choose a tomato-based pizza base or the barbecue sauce as a base. 


Domino’s does not serve any vegan cheeses so you should not ask for any cheese on your pizza—stick to a tomato-based pizza that does not contain milk. 


vegetarian pizza

Excluding atonal cheese, meat or anchovies the majority of toppings for your Domino’s pizza are vegan-friendly. The list includes:

  • Banana peppers
  • Black olives
  • Green olives
  • Garlic
  • Green bell peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Pineapple
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Corn
  • Jalapeños 


In addition to pizza sauces for your actual pizza( tomato or barbecue), you can choose from an array of sauces for dipping or any sides that you may order. 

The vegan sauces on offer are: 

  • Robust Inspired Tomato Sauce
  • Barbecue Sauce
  • Garlic Dipping Sauce
  • Hot Buffalo Sauce
  • Italian Dipping Sauce

Ordering a Vegan Pizza at Domino’s

You can order your Domino’s pizza in various sizes, details of which are below:

  • Small Domino’s Pizza is 10 inches 
  • Medium Domino’s Pizza is 12 inches
  • Large Domino’s Pizza is 14-18 inches

The small pizza has six slices, the medium pizza has eight slices, and the large pizza has twelve slices.

You can order your choice of pizza base, what sauce you want, and any toppings that you fancy. We would advise adding as many toppings as you desire as this will elevate your pizza and make up for the lack of cheese and meat.

Ordering Vegan Pasta from Dominos

vegetarian pasta

In addition to vegan pizza, you can ask for vegan-friendly pasts at Domino’s. You will be served your pasts in a dish with no sauce and you are able to add your favorite toppings, such as fresh tomatoes, spinach, olives, garlic, and green bell peppers.

Garlic sauce or marinara sauces go well with your plain pasta to keep it vegan.

There is also another possible vegan pasta option at Domino’s. The Pasta Primavera can be ordered without the cheese or Alfredo.

You can substitute these items with extra sauce that is vegan, such as the Robust Inspired Tomato Sauce and extra vegetables (w think mushrooms, olives, and bell peppers work well). You may not be able to get this option at all branches so check when you call up or drop in. 

Ordering a Vegan Sandwich at Domino’s

vegetarian bean sandwich

An example of a plant-based sandwich at Domino’s is a Mediterranean veggie sandwich without the cheese. You can add a side of marinara sauce or barbecue sauce with additional flavor.

Simply ask for the type of bread that you won’t eat, out of a choice of artisan slices of bread that are vegan. You can choose from all of the vegetables that you could add to a pizza, such as greens, peppers, onions, and diced tomatoes, just make sure to leave off the cheese.

You can have your sandwich warm or cold and liven it up with sauces including barbecue or mango habanero sauce.


A salad is a great way to add a healthy extra to your pizza, especially if you are having pizza for lunch or dinner. If you are ordering pizza for a late-night snack then you may want to skip the salad.

If you do choose a salad you can look forward to a crisp salad that contains the following:

  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Greens
  • Apple
  • Pecan

In addition to a classic garden (without the cheese) salad, Domino’s makes a Chicken Apple Salad which you can order without the chicken. You should also avoid the croutons as they contain milk and maybe cooked using animal fats

The Italian, Catalina, or balsamic dressings are all good options to add extra flavor to your salad. Make sure you do not order the Ranch or Caesar dressings as they are not vegan.

You can also ask for Ken’s Italian and Ken’s Balsamic Vinaigrette in some branches of Domino’s.

The salad containers are good for piling high with healthy ingredients and good for transporting back home, to the office, or to the park if you want to dine al fresco.

salad plate


It is disappointing that none of the sides available at Domino’s are vegan. All of the dishes, including the potato-based products, contain animal products in the form of milk.

In addition, we are unsure if the side dishes are cooked using animal-based fats.

The same goes with the majority of the slices of bread that are advertised as sides, such as the garlic bread, as they are all very cheese-heavy. We can only hope that one day Domino’s develops a garlic bread that does not contain milk and is made with vegan cheese instead of normal cheese. 

Like the sides and side slices of bread (not the sandwich slices of bread) there are no desserts that are vegan-friendly so you will have to source elsewhere. 


coke in a paper cup with straw

All soft drinks at Domino’s are vegan, including:

  • Coke
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Fanta
  • Root Beer
  • Water
  • Orange juice
  • Apple juice


It is important that you keep a check on the updates that Domino’s makes to their menu. As menus on large fast-food chains are ever-changing to keep up with the vegan trend you may find that there are more vegan options appearing every day.

As there are over 5000 Domino’s outlets across the US you may find that one restaurant may vary from the rest. You can also ask about how food is prepared and cooked so as to avoid cross-contamination if you are worried your vegan food may have been near meat.

pizza with spinach

Vegan-Friendly Pizza Chains

It is great to see that there are lots of vegan-friendly options at Domimo’s, whether you build your own or you choose a specific vegan pizza. That said, there are lots of other pizza restaurants where you can find pizzas that are plant-based. 

Some of our favorite vegan-friendly pizza places are:

  • Pizza Fire
  • Mellow Mushroom
  • Blaze Pizza
  • MOD Pizza
  • Pie Five
  • Pizza Rev
  • Pizza
  • Pieology


pizza with olives

Being vegan does not mean that you have to miss out on good pizza as there are lots of vegan-friendly pizza places in the US including the crowd-pleasing Domino’s pizza. We do think that there could be more dedicated vegan options for a quick order but there are lots of classic and more exciting ingredients on offer.

Like most pizza chains and restaurants that are aiming to be more inclusive to vegans, we are sure that there are more vegan-friendly dishes in development and we look forward to like the likes of additional meat substitutes to make even more exciting pizzas.

There is promising news in the fact that Domino’s in the UK has a vegan option that uses vegan cheese, so we are hoping that the news changes here in the US and Domino’s finally offers good vegan offerings aside from building your own vegan pizza and build your own vegan pasta. 

The great thing about ordering vegan pizza at Domino’s is that it is generally easy to do as they have so many restaurants throughout the US which means you should never be without your pizza fix when you need one. 

Similar Posts