Greggs: Vegan Menu Options in the UK

Greggs is a large bakery chain in the UK, with an up-and-coming couple of vegan options that have put them on the radar for many following a vegan diet. Some options are seasonal or available only in the mornings, but the available options are expanding.

Once a small bakery chain, Greggs are now a high-street bakery often sourced by those looking for a quick bite to eat at work at the airport. There is now a Greggs in the House of Parliament in London, and the CEO of Greggs recently converted to a vegan diet as well.

Likewise, their vegan menu is of some interest to many vegans across the UK who wonder whether there is a reliable source for vegan food on the go.

Greggs has operated a vegan menu for a couple of years, with options coming in and out with changing seasonal menus. Additionally, Greggs offers some vegan items that are accidentally vegan and not labelled that way but omits any animal-derived ingredients.

However, it is essential to note with accidentally vegan items that as they are not labelled that way, there is often the risk of cross-contamination that compels the chain to avoid labelling them that way. Consequently, these should be consumed at the discretion of any vegan wanting to try them out.

What is available at Greggs today? What has been discontinued? What should you look out for? Read more to find out.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. The links below may be affiliate links. Please read my disclosure policy for more information. 

Vegan sausage roll

Greggs has offered the vegan sausage roll since January 2019. Fast-food chains like McDonald’s and KFC have been slow to start offering vegan menu items, so this was a welcome change for vegans looking for a quick bite to eat.

When consuming meat substitutes, it can be difficult as a vegan not to be alarmed by a very meaty-tasting dish. If you are concerned about the over-authenticity of your vegan sausage roll from Greggs, as those following a vegan diet often are, there is a simple method to see if you have the vegan version.

Vegan sausage rolls purchased from Greggs feature horizontal slits in the pastry, and the meat varieties have longer diagonal ones to help them be easily distinguishable.

The vegan sausage roll tends to be available at most chains and has not been discontinued, so if you are interested, your local chain should be able to offer you one. They are also relatively inexpensive, at £1.05 per sausage roll.

Greggs vegan steak bake

puff pastry

For a short time in 2020, Greggs offered a vegan steak bake. It has been discontinued to make room for new vegan menu items, like the vegan replacement for the sausage, cheese and bean pasty, but Greggs has assured customers that this is temporary.

It comprised Quorn to replace the steak, onions, and rich gravy in pastry. Like the other vegan pastries, it had a distinctly horizontal pattern to distinguish it from the meat variety.

At the time it was available, Greggs sold it at £1.55.

Greggs vegan festive bake

Greggs vegan festive bake was released temporarily for Christmas in 2021. The puff pastry had a similar horizontal patterning to distinguish it from meat options.

It contained Quorn, sage and onion stuffing balls, “bacon” crumbs, and an additional festive cranberry sauce.

As it is a seasonal item, the discontinuation is unlikely to be permanent and more likely to be part of a seasonal rotation of holiday-themed menu items. It may return next November and December, so any vegans interested should keep an eye on the calendar as it comes back around.

Greggs vegan sausage, bean and cheeze melt

A common lunchtime offering for those who eat meat at Greggs is their offering of vegan sausage, bean and cheese melts. This generally comprises simple beans, small pork sausages, a gently tomato-based sauce and cheese melted throughout, wrapped in puff pastry.

Greggs is currently offering a vegan substitute to this menu item in the form of their vegan sausage, bean and cheeze melt, with the identifying stripes in the pastry once again. Baked beans, Quorn vegan sausages, and two types of vegan cheese feature in this pastry.

These are available across the UK and should be available in a chain near you if you are interested in trying it out.

These are being sold from £1.50, which is just 7 pence more than the meat-based sausage, bean and cheese melt counterpart at £1.43.

Greggs vegan ham and cheeze baguette

This vegan ham and cheese baguette substitute is offered at all Greggs chains from 2021 onward. Unlike the vegan sausage, bean and cheeze melt, it features one type of cheese in the form of mature cheddar-style slices and Quorn substitute ham substitute slices.

The baguette does not contain any sauces or salads, so anything added would need to be verifiably vegan as well. However, as advertised, you can be sure this item is not at risk of cross-contamination, and for any vegans concerned, this might be a safe option.

It is being sold for £2.95.

Greggs vegan bacon roll

puff pastry

Greggs, in late 2021, rolled out numerous extra vegan items for its breakfast menu that simulate both the look, feel and taste of traditionally meat-based dishes. Hopeful vegans can only purchase the Greggs breakfast menu before 11 AM every morning.

These plant-based bacon strips are formulated to look similar to the real thing, served in a corn-top bun, and are relatively inexpensive at prices from £1.95.

Greggs vegan sausage breakfast roll

Greggs also offers a vegan sausage breakfast roll, or bap, depending on where you are from, to pair with their meat offerings in the breakfast department.

It has the same soft corn top bun used in the vegan bacon roll but is paired with two Quorn sausages and a vegan sauce of choice: HP brown sauce or ketchup. It can also be paired with a hot drink in the £3 breakfast meal deal, meaning vegans can now participate in this deal.

On its own, vegans can purchase the Greggs vegan sausage breakfast roll from £1.95.

Hash browns

Greggs across the UK are now offering hash browns, but only on the breakfast menu. They are vegan-friendly and comprised of solely shredded and fried potatoes.

They are available with the £3 breakfast deal for an additional 50p or a 2-pack for £1.

Southern-fried potato wedges

These are not available in all Greggs shops, so look to see if the one near you has a Hot-to-Go counter. As they are freshly prepared, these are the only shops that will feature them, standing at just a few hundred chains in the UK.

Vegan dips for these include a barbecue sauce provided and Heinz ketchup. Vegans should check any other dips provided at their local chain for non-vegan ingredients, or you can ask staff for guidance or an ingredient list.

These are available from £1.05.

Jam doughnuts

Greggs offers jam doughnuts on their menu, which do not technically contain any animal-derived ingredients. This means they are vegan-friendly generally, but they are at risk of cross-contamination in their production as they are not strictly labelled as vegan.

As they may have touched products containing milk, eggs or other animal products, these are a personal choice for vegans.

Many vegans find it perfectly acceptable to consume products contaminated with these foods, while others prefer to abstain. Suppose you have a strong allergy to any animal-derived products you are avoiding.

In that case, it may be wise to avoid this product altogether, as cross-contamination can be dangerous for those with severe allergies.

Although the regular jam doughnut is suitable for most vegans, avoid jam doughnuts offered with icing as the icing does contain milk. They are offered from £0.60.

Belgian bun

Greggs Belgian buns do not feature on their vegan menu and are not explicitly marked as vegan. Still, they do not contain any ingredients created with animal products or animal products themselves.

They may not be marked as vegan because they are produced with other cakes and desserts, generally made with dairy products and other animal-derived ingredients. As this means they are at risk of cross-contamination, vegans who consume these buns should consider if this is an ethical or health issue for them.

Likewise, those with severe allergies to any avoided non-vegan ingredients here should avoid this item. Greggs sells Belgian buns from £0.95.

Sugar strand doughnuts


As another baked good, the sugar strand doughnut offered at Greggs does have the possibility of cross-contamination. However, the recipe does not contain any animal products or animal-derived ingredients, notable because its icing does not contain milk whatsoever.

Interested vegans should be careful not to select a different product by accident and ask a staff member to ensure they are purchasing the correct item. These are available from £0.75.

Vegan glazed ring doughnuts

Instead of producing a new vegan glazed ring doughnut, the Greggs glazed ring doughnut recipe was generally altered, meaning there was no noted release across the board. However, this means the glazed ring doughnut can be eaten readily by vegans with no concerns of mix-ups.

It is sold from £0.75.

Are there other vegan desserts at Greggs?

Yes. Greggs offers other internal items that vary from store to store, such as own-brand crisps, fruit, and Greggs nut mixes.

These differ from one shop to shop and should be checked at your discretion to verify their ingredients. However, the Greggs sea salt & cider vinegar hand-cooked crisps, Thai sweet chilli hand-cooked crisps, and salt & vinegar crunchy sticks are generally considered vegan.

Greggs also offers nut mixes that may be vegan and are listed as “may contain milk”. These are just at risk of cross-contamination and can be consumed with discretion by anyone following a vegan diet.

In particular, the Greggs smoky BBQ and naked nuts mixes individually are notably vegan. Be sure to check the ingredients, as these can change at any time with little notice to vegan consumers.

Although these may not list themselves as vegan, the ingredient lists should be informative.

The fruit offered at Greggs is entirely vegan and can be consumed by anybody following a vegan diet without worry.

Are there any vegan cakes at Greggs?

Unfortunately for vegans looking for this particular item, Greggs does not have cakes with a vegan-friendly recipe, nor explicitly vegan cakes. However, the glazed ring doughnut is a safe choice for a discerning vegan and the Belgian bun for an accidentally vegan item.

Are Greggs hot drinks vegan?

coffee with frothed milk design

The hot chocolate offered at Greggs is not vegan, as it is made exclusively with cow’s milk.

However, vegan customers can potentially make the tea and coffee so by using vegan options offered at each Greggs shop. Greggs offers soya milk that can be added to coffees and tea.

It is important to note that the tea and coffee is made by machine, so there is a high chance of cross-contamination between customers as these appliances are difficult to clean. If you or the person you are purchasing for suffers from allergenic issues with dairy, strongly consider avoiding these items.

Otherwise, this vegan option is likely to be offered in your local chain for those who find this risk acceptable.

Are Greggs vegetable bakes vegan-friendly?

No. The vegetable bakes offered at Greggs are named such for their filling, and while they are suitable for vegetarians, they are not appropriate for vegans.

They contain milk, so anybody avoiding this ingredient for dietary reasons should also avoid this.

Are Greggs Yum Yums vegan?

Unfortunately not. There are other vegan dessert options offered at Greggs, such as glazed doughnuts and potentially the Belgian bun and sugar strand doughnut for those that can eat food with the risk of cross-contamination.

Are the Greggs mince pies vegan-friendly?

planet earth first

Yes. Greggs mince pies are seasonal, so you may not be able to find them locally all year round. However, they do not contain any ingredients derived from animals.

They do contain palm oil. This may be a concern for any vegan concerned about environmental impact.

Greggs do participate in sustainable palm oil schemes and attempt to source their palm oil sustainably, but this should still be treated warily by environmentally-conscious vegans. Even sustainable palm oil can contribute to environmental destruction and even human rights abuses.

If you are concerned, look into Greggs’ sources and examine reports on the palm oil source they use.

Similar Posts